Showing posts with label multiples group. Show all posts
Showing posts with label multiples group. Show all posts

Friday, September 20, 2013

Just another day...

Our girls are working on their espionage look, or their Grace Kelly look? I'm not sure but they're loooooooking good right???

Our semi annual clothing & toy exchange is coming up and I'm stealthily skulking about, gathering, matching up and pairing sets of toys, outfits, book series and all sorts of kid clutter! Our house is packed and we have to clear out this stuff that doesn't get used anymore! This lead to an argument about the Anne of Green Gables wig that I found with dust bunnies meshed into the bangs. Seriously? Untouched since that Halloween costume a couple years ago! there's no good place to store it easily so, yeah, buh-bye Anne!

Our poor baby boy isn't doing so good this week either! He went back to the vet for a recheck on his ears on Tuesday and got the all clear. He'd been limping for a few days and we figured he'd had strained something so I asked the vet to check it while we were there. Nothing she could determine at the free recheck of course, had to come back for sedation, xRays. We were hesitant about whether to bother, usually when we go, the verdict is "inconclusive- give him some rest and xyz pain med and $200". Buuuut you just never know and with that one leg not bearing any weight, we were worried he'd damage the good back leg. So I dropped him off for another visit yesterday. Turns out he has a condition called Panosteitis where the bones get inflamed inside and are extremely painful. There's not anything they can do to treat it except for pain medication. The upside is that it doesn't usually hit the same bone twice, it's only in the long bones and they tend to grow out of it by age 3. So he's almost got one year in and only 7 possible bones left it could hit. The vet said that some dogs only ever have one bout of it and he won't necessarily have it happen in all other 7 bones. Here's hoping for limited exposure to this!!! The poor guy is always restless, moving around often, trying to find a comfortable place to lay down. This is probably the first good sleep he's had in awhile!

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Busy Saturday Too!

Saturday started off with Lovey heading out to a violin rehearsal for 8:45. Then I got the other 2 up & ready & we headed to the gym to meet Murray for the hand off! I went to class & he took all 3 to the mall to pick up a bday present for the party that afternoon. After my class, I had a practice reading at church at 11 so I went to that and came home and rounded everybody up to go to the multiples BBQ to celebrate National Multiple Births Awareness Day. We had to leave early to get home in time for the bday party next door though. While the girls were at the party I went to pick up something to watch for movie night and also to search for a hat for the service on Sunday (more on that later).

By the time I got home the party was almost over and no one was very hungry for supper, having had their fill of hot dogs, cake & chips alllll day. I picked "The Greening of Whitney Brown" and they loved that! But you can't really go wrong with  "a girl and her horse" stories!



Another busy but fun day that came back to haunt us in the middle of the night when Lovey was standing by my bed saying she felt funny. As soon as I smelled the acidic breath, I leaped out of bed and propelled her sleepy little feet straight to the bathroom and got there in the nick of time! She was only back in bed for a few seconds when I heard her rolling back and forth, moaning and trying to get comfortable. I was pretty sure that wasn't going to happen and decided there was no point in going back to bed myself at that point. After a few minutes of that, I brought her back to the bathroom. Yep. Round 2 was on. Once that was over she felt much better and was able to get back to sleep. I was glad I'd decided to do all their showers before the movie and didn't have to get up early to do that!

Sunday, May 13, 2012

Mother's Day Pre-Celebration!

Every year, the multiples group throws a mother's day party. For several years, this was my event to plan, prepare, bake for, shop for and execute. A few years ago I picked up a sidekick, Andrea, who is so much like me, it makes working on events so much easier as I know exactly what to expect and that I can depend on her 100%. Still lots of work for the 2 of us and we decided to hand it off.  Luckily  a few others volunteered to take on the party. We were glad to hand it off and not have to worry about anything except showing up! However, as it turns out, I'm not so good at that. What if they forget to ??? Did they know to contact so and so well in advance to secure the date? Are they going to hype the event up so people will come?  and on and on. Andrea kept saying, "stay OUT of it" but I'm so addicted to my "what ifs" that it was incredibly hard to keep my fingers off the keyboard to check in on them! The club spends a small fortune on these events and charges a pittance for the tickets so it would be a shame if no one came!

But they sure did and it was a fabulous night! Roses for everyone, lovely decorations, a chocolate fountain (bliss!), live soft guitar music all evening, massages, manicures, door prizes and lots of snacks all evening! And a great turnout too! Obviously they knew what they were doing and they had so many great ideas that we'd never thought of or had time to do. A team of 4 is the way to go I think! Maybe one of them would like to be president...

They got each of us on the club executive (3 of us) a wonderful card with the nicest handwritten note of appreciation inside, along with a gift certificate for a pedicure at a local salon. It was so nice, and so unprecedented that I cried. (surprise surprise!). I became president of the group in 2005 and for years (until Andrea & Sylvie came along) was in charge of planning all our sales, parties, meetings, guest speakers, membership, paperwork, website creation, development and updating etc. This was the first time that anyone wrote a thank you card and it was a great feeling to be appreciated! Although the downside is that I can't resign now that they've been so nice!!! LOL



(L) Andrea  (R) Kelly ;)))